ARC 421 - Architectural Theory

American Institute of Architects - Middle East Chapter

"Our mission is to improve the quality of life of the next 3 billion people that will move into cities in the next 40 years, by providing inspiration, knowledge and tools to the architects who will have the challenge to design for them."

Database for international architects and buildings, past to present. Includes both built and unrealized projects from architects and planners, with a focus on the 20th century. Search by architect, town or keyword.

Supplements the monthly magazine with expanded multimedia project stories, in-depth interviews with giants of architecture, daily news updates, weekly book reviews, green architecture stories and archival material, as well as links to people and products.

This site is a platform for researchers, students, faculty, and practitioners to share research, resources, and published work about Kuwait’s architecture and urbanism, and network with colleagues in the field.

This entirely open-access portal, curated by the Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT, is aimed at scholars and architects engaged with the Islamic world. It contains some digitized publications but is best known for its library of digital images which includes plans, photographs (both historical and contemporary) and descriptions of architectural sites around the world.

"A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. Searchable by country, city, style, title, architect."

The world’s leading resource for professionals focused on the inception, design, construction, and operation of tall buildings and future cities. Publishes the peer-reviewed CTBUH Journal, The website provides reports, technical guides, videos, photos, links, and interviews with renowned urban planners and architects.

Creating a Digital Archive of the World's Heritage Sites for Preservation and Education

Industrial design today: courses, education, competitions, history and contemporary, shop, interviews, snapshots, design-aerobics, the intelligent hand competition

Includes: Dubai 2020 Urban Master Plan, planning standards and publications and information on green buildings.

Consists of terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

“Gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.” Allows you to search by building, architect and location.

"Administers HABS (Historic American Buildings Survey), the U.S. Federal Government's oldest preservation program, and companion programs HAER (Historic American Engineering Record), HALS (Historic American Landscapes Survey), and CRGIS (Cultural Resources Geographic Information Systems). Documentation produced through the programs constitutes the nation's largest archive of historic architectural, engineering, and landscape documentation."

Collaborative effort to digitize over 30,000 drawings, photographs, letters and other materials related to the career of Marcel Breuer, one of the most influential architects and furniture designers of the twentieth century.

"McGraw-Hill Construction connects people, projects and products across the design and construction industry. From project and product information to industry news, trends and forecasts, we provide industry players the tools and resources that help them save time, money, and energy."

News, data, analysis and strategic insights for architects in the GCC

Web portal, 'all about architecture', maintained by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).

RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Gulf Chapter. The Chapter has recently been formally registered, under the patronage of the Ruler of Sharjah, as a company branch in the UAE based at AUS.

SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for over 20,000 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore SAH Archipedia you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. This cross-section of the country demonstrates the richness and diversity of architecture and building practice across many centuries, from mud brick to steel, from ancient cliff dwellings to contemporary office towers—a history that unfolds in individual building entries and thematic essays written by leading architectural historians who survey and explain styles and typologies, materials and techniques, and social and political contexts, from local to state to national levels.

"This site offers you information on works of structural engineering, architecture or construction through time, history and from around the world. Our documentation begins at the time of the pyramids in Egypt and Roman construction, continues to Romanesque and Gothic churches and through to the Industrial Revolution all the way to today and beyond. Structurae deals mostly with bridges, tunnels, dams, skyscrapers, stadiums, towers, etc."