Find Journal Articles - ARC 421 - Architectural Theory - LibGuides at American University of Sharjah

Getting Help

Research Help

	Library Service Desk Ground floor, AUS Library
	06 5152277
	researchhelp@aus.edu
	Open during library hours

For help during academic calendar weekends, final exams & semester breaks, email: researchhelp@aus.edu

Modified hours for Ramadan & summer semester

Finding Databases

Databases are electronic collections of journals.

The library subscribes to many databases where you can search for full-text academic articles. View and access databases by subject listing including Architecture or by complete A to Z listing.

Key Architecture Databases

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository.

Artstor has merged with JSTOR, and the Artstor website will retire on August 1, 2024. If you have Artstor Image Groups, they have been moved to JSTOR Workspace. For more information, please refer to the Artstor to JSTOR migration guide.

Artstor Architecture Guide

Avery Architecture Index This link opens in a new window
[Abstract-only] Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is a comprehensive guide to international literature of architecture, interior design, city planning, archaeology, and historic preservation from.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication, as well as book chapters. Please note that the current volume of a journal is NOT available on JSTOR; the latest volume available on JSTOR is usually 3-5 years old.

How to Use JSTOR

Oxford Art Online tour
Guided tour helps you get started using the site.

Additional Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is an extensive general reference resource, encompassing more than 160 subjects, with reliable and authoritative information from around the world. Content is aggregated from journals, newspapers, as well as from industry reports and company profiles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes content on Geography, Planning and Development.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Goolge Scholar Libguide