Architecture of the UAE and Gulf Region - ARC 421 - Architectural Theory - LibGuides at American University of Sharjah

Getting Help

Research Help

	Library Service Desk Ground floor, AUS Library
	06 5152277
	researchhelp@aus.edu
	Open during library hours

For help during academic calendar weekends, final exams & semester breaks, email: researchhelp@aus.edu

Modified hours for Ramadan & summer semester

Other Resources

Google Books - http://books.google.com Searches the full text of books that Google has scanned. This contrasts with WorldCat which searches the book catalog record (metadata).

Yasser Elsheshtawy, https://sheshtawy.org, independent writer and researcher and an Adjunct Professor of Architecture at Columbia University, GSAPP.

Featured Books

Al Manakh
Call Number: NA1 .V65 2007 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9789077966129
After Singapore in the 1980s and China in the 1990s, the next large-scale urbanisation is going ahead at full steam. Al Manakh, a special publication by the periodical Volume, offers a detailed analysis of the history, culture and architecture of the following breeding-ground of modernisation: the coast of the Persian Gulf, and in particular of Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Ras al Khaimah.
Al Manakh 2 : Gulf cont'd
Call Number: NA1465.3 .M362 2010 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9789077966235
In a world buzzing with satellite aerials, news flashes and status updates, this second Al Manakh – a special issue of Volume Magazine – provides an essential and comprehensive guide to the Gulf region during turbulent times: the worldwide financial crisis. The credit crunch is a ‘stress test’ for the different development models in the region as nations prepare for a post-oil economy. This transition provides several challenges: economic re-profiling, food security, environmental exposure, multiculturalism and demographic growth.
The Arab City by Amale Andraos (Editor); Nora Akawi (Editor)
Call Number: NA2543.S6 A6274 2014 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9781941332146
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Architecture and Globalisation in the Persian Gulf Region by Murray Fraser (Editor); Nasser Golzari
Call Number: NA2543.G46 A69 2013 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9781409443148
Publication Date: 2013-11-28
ebook also available
Includes chapters on Sharjah, Dubai and Abu Dhabi
Architecture in the Emirates by Philip Jodidio
Call Number: NA1473 .J63 2007 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 3822813966
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Architecture of the United Arab Emirates by Salma Samar Damluji
Call Number: NA1473 .D36 2006 - General Collection - 1st Floor
ISBN: 1859641563
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
eBook is also available
Charter of Dubai by Sabine Müller (Text by); Andreas Quednau (Text by); Kees Christiaanse (Foreword by); Philipp Misselwitz (Afterword by)
Call Number: NA7419.U543 D83 2012 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9783868591651
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Contemporary Architecture and Urbanism in the Middle East by Mohammad al-Asad
Call Number: NA1465 .A43 2012 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9780813040172
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Diversity in design : perspectives from the non-Western world
Call Number: NK1710 .J36 2011 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9781563677557
Includes chapters on the United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Algeria, Turkey and India. Contributors include AUS faculty.
Dubai by DAAB Media Staff (Created by)
Call Number: NA1473.2 .D83 D83 2006 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 3937718478
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Dubai: Behind an Urban Spectacle by Yasser Elsheshtawy
Call Number: DS247.D78 E57 2013 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9780415832212
Publication Date: 2013-05-03
eBook also available
Economy and Architecture by Juliet Odgers (Editor); Mhairi McVicar (Editor); Stephen Kite (Editor)
Call Number: NA2543.S6 E29 2015 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9781138025486
Publication Date: 2015-08-04
Includes chapter on Dubai by AUS Professor Kevin Mitchell
Elements of traditional architecture in Dubai
Call Number: NA1471 .D82 2000 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
Reference copy also available
The Evolving Arab City by Yasser Elsheshtawy (Editor)
Call Number: HT147.5 .E96 2011 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9780415665728
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
Ebook also available
The History of Qatari Architecture, 1800-1950 by Ibrahim Jaidah (Editor); Malika Bourennane (Editor)
Call Number: NA1473.5 .J35 2009
ISBN: 9788861307933
Publication Date: 2010-05-04
Honour in Contentment by William Lancaster; Fidelity Lancaster
Call Number: GF696.U5 L36 2011
ISBN: 9783110223392
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
eBook also available
Islands + ghettos
Call Number: HT165.5 .H45 2008 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9783940748713
The Middle East by Hasan-Uddin Kahn
Call Number: NA680 .W67 1999 - Reference Collection - 1st Floor
ISBN: 9783211832882
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
New Frontiers in Architecture by Oscar Bellini; Laura Daglio
Call Number: NA1473.2.D83 B45 2008 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 885440411X
Publication Date: 2010-09-07
Persian Gulf Islamic Architecture by Farry Kazeroon
Call Number: NA1465.3 .K39 2009 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 964367326X
Publication Date: 2009
The Traditional Architechture of Ras Al-Khaimah (North) by Walter Dostal
Call Number: NA1471.R3 D6 1983
ISBN: 9783882261738
Publication Date: 2011-12-31
Traditional Architecture of the Arabian Gulf by Ronald Hawker
Call Number: NA1465.5 .H39 2008 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9781845641351
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Traditional Domestic Architecture of the Arab Region by Friedrich Ragette
Call Number: NA1465 .R14 2003 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 3932565304
Publication Date: 2003-06-11
Traditional Islamic Principals of Built Environment by Hisham Mortada
Call Number: NA2543.I74 M67 2003 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 0700717005
Publication Date: 2003-05-23
Transformations : the Emirati national house by Yasser Elsheshtawy (Editor)
Call Number: NA7515.U5 T73 2016 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9789948022831
Publication Date: 2016
The Transnational Mosque by Kishwar Rizvi
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781469621166
Publication Date: 2015-11-30
UAE and the Gulf by Kevin Mitchell (Editor); George Katodrytis (Editor)
Call Number: NA1473 .U24 2015 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9781118759066
Publication Date: 2015-03-30
United Arab Emirates - Architectural Guide by Hendrik Bohle; Jan Dimog
Call Number: NA1473 .B6413 2016 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 3869225084
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
The Urban Design Reader by Michael Larice (Editor); Elizabeth Macdonald (Editor)
Call Number: NA9040 .U68 2013 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9780415668088
Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Urban Planning in the Middle East by John Yarwood
Call Number: HT169.M628 Y37 2011
ISBN: 9781443831871
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Includes chapter on traditional building construction in the Gulf. Includes chapter on contemporary urban design in Kuwait, Sharjah and Dubai.
Windtower by Anne Coles; Peter Jackson
Call Number: NA7117.A74 C65 2007 - General Collection - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9781905299249
Publication Date: 2007-10-30

ARC 421 - Architectural Theory

WorldCat Search

Suggest A Book

Getting Help

Other Resources

Featured Books