LibGuides: Scholarly Research, Writing and Publishing for Design: Finding Journals for Publication

Getting Help

Research Help

	Library Service Desk Ground floor, AUS Library
	06 5152277
	researchhelp@aus.edu
	Open during library hours

For help during academic calendar weekends, final exams & semester breaks, email: researchhelp@aus.edu

Modified hours for Ramadan & summer semester

UlrichsWeb Periodical Directory

The AUS Library subscribes to UlrichsWeb - a vital tool for sourcing periodical information. You can filter results to Refereed / Peer-reviewed and find reviews from Magazines for Libraries, Library Journal and independent reviewers. The record for each title includes important information such as where published and indexed and contact details.

Guidelines for Evaluating Journals

Think. Check. Submit
Launched in 2015, Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications. Central to the initiative is a checklist based on best practices in scholarly communication.
Journal Quality Indicators
List of both Positive and Negative Indicators to help evaluate publications. Compiled by librarians at Grand Valley State University (USA).
Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
Criteria developed from a collaboration among: The Committee on Publication Ethics, the Directory of Open Access Journals, the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association and the World Association of Medical Editors.
COPE
The Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) provides advice and flowcharts on publication ethics.

Ranked and Core Journals Lists

Journals can also be evaluated based on assessment methods or inspection by experts. Below are some journal lists compiled by universities, professional organizations or research centers. Some are specific to a discipline.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Click on Sources and enter a Subject area (e.g. Visual Arts and Performing Arts) to retrieve a list of journal titles with various metrics.

Master Journal List by Clarivate Analytics
Maintained by Clarivate Analytics to include core literature only. Less influential journals are removed and new quality journals are added to reflect the evolution of scholarly topics. Includes the list of Arts & Humanities Citation Index Source Publications which are not calculated in JCR
AIGA Resources RE: Design Research and Scholarship
List of journals and organizations that foster or support design research and scholarship. Many of these host peer-reviewed conferences and publish their conferences’ proceedings. Some facilitate juried exhibitions and workshops.
Beall's list of "predatory" publishers and journals
This is the archived list as this ceased being updated in January 2017.
Association of Architecture School Librarians Core Periodicals List (2017)
Four groups include: Essential, Recommended, Topical, Titles to Watch
ARCLIB (UK Architecture Librarians' Group) Refereed Journals List
Provides information on refereed journals across the subject areas of architecture, design, construction and planning.
Quality perceptions of design journals: The design scholars’ perspective
Gemser, G., De Bont, C., Hekkert, P., & Friedman, K. (2012). Quality perceptions of design journals: The design scholars’ perspective. Design Studies, 33(1), 4-23. doi:10.1016/j.destud.2011.09.001
Abstract: The primary objectives of this study were to identify a set of journals that report on industrial design research and to propose quality rankings of those journals. Based on an online survey, design journals were assessed in terms of two quality metrics: popularity and indexed average rank position. We find that both general and specialized design journals are highly valued and that geographic origin and academic background can be related with journal rankings. The results of the study offer a guide to both evaluators and those evaluated when judging or selecting research outlets.
Keywords: industrial design; evaluation; design research; design science; journal ranking
more...less...
Appendix. List of journals
We asked respondents to select five journals that they considered being a top tier journal based on the journals’ academic contribution to the industrial design discipline. We furthermore asked respondents to select from the alphabetically ordered list below but emphasized that they could add their own journals in spaces supplied at the bottom of the list. Furthermore, we emphasized that the respondents should select only journals with which they are personally familiar.

1. Applied Ergonomics
2. Creativity and Innovation Management
3. CoDesign
4. Computer-Aided Design
5. Design and Culture
6. Design Issues
7. Design Management Journal
8. Design Philosophy Papers
9. Design Research Quarterly
10. Design Studies
11. Digital Creativity
12. Ergonomics
13. Ergonomics in Design
14. Empirical Studies of the Arts
15. Human-Computer Interaction
16. Human Factors
17. Information Design Journal
18. Interacting with Computers
19. International Journal of Art & Design Education
39. Visible Language
20. International Journal of Design
21. International Journal of Product Development
22. International Journal of Sustainable Design
23. International Journal of Technology and Design Education
24. International Journal on Interactive Design and Manufacturing
25. Journal of Design History
26. Journal of Design Research
27. Journal of Engineering Design
28. Journal of Interior Design
29. Journal of Material Culture
30. Journal of Mechanical Design
31. Journal of Product Innovation Management
32. Journal on Multimodal User Interfaces
33. Materials & Design
34. Personal and Ubiquitous Computing
35. Research in Engineering Design
36. The Design Journal
37. The Journal of Sustainable Product Design
38. The Senses & Society
40. Visual Communication
Don Norman: Designing for People
Don Norman's (author of The Design of Everyday Things) recommendations for high-quality research journals in the design field include:
* Design Issues
* Design Studies
* The International Journal of Design
Also links to high-quality journals in Human Computer Interaction

Scholarly Research, Writing and Publishing for Design

Getting Help

Subject Databases

UlrichsWeb Periodical Directory

Guidelines for Evaluating Journals

Ranked and Core Journals Lists