Scholarly Research, Writing and Publishing for Design

List of journals and organizations that foster or support design research and scholarship. Many of these host peer-reviewed conferences and publish their conferences’ proceedings. Some facilitate juried exhibitions and workshops.

The largest professional organization for design. Includes the AIGA Design Archives, a rich visual resource of over 20,000 images including selections from AIGA’s annual juried design competitions dating from 1924 through the present. In addition, it features special collections of major American design firms and practitioners.

Arts Schools Network is a non-profit association founded in 1981, dedicated to its mission to provide leaders in arts schools with quality resources, support, and networking opportunities.

Membership Organization of the 42 Leading Art & Design Schools in the USA and Canada

Publishers of The Art Bulletin, and Art Journal. This portal includes table of contents archives back to 1996 of Art Bulletin magazine.

"Since 1995 Core77.com has served a devoted global audience of industrial designers ranging from students through seasoned professionals. Core77 publishes articles, discussion forums, an extensive event calendar, hosts portfolios, job listings, a database of design firms, schools, vendors and services. Core77 provides a gathering point for designers and enthusiasts alike by producing design competitions, lecture series, parties, and exhibits." (From the website)

A portal for modern and post-modern design. Index to designers, producers, and objects. Objects can be searched by historical period, function, or material. Especially valuable for researching the history and contemporary practice of industrial design.

International site for design professionals, faculty, and students providing critical writings by well-known writers.

Don Norman's (author of The Design of Everyday Things) recommendations for high-quality research journals in the design field include:
* Design Issues
* Design Studies
* The International Journal of Design
Also links to high-quality journals in Human Computer Interaction

The primary independent network organisation for higher arts education. With around 300 members in 47 countries, it represents some 300,000 students in all art disciplines. ELIA advocates for the arts on the European level, creating new opportunities for its members and facilitating the exchange of best practices.

Founded in 1965, the nonprofit Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA) is one of the oldest and largest membership associations for industrial design professionals. IDSA has thousands of members in dozens of Student Chapters, Professional Chapters and Special Interest Sections in the United States and internationally. IDSA sponsors the annual International Design Excellence Awards® (IDEA), the world’s most prestigious and rigorous design competition.

Founded in early 2004 by a group of 15 universities. iDMAa is dedicated to serving educators, practitioners, scholars, and organizations with interests in digital media.

"The Khatt Foundation, Center for Arabic Typography is a cultural foundation and design research center dedicated to advancing design and typography in the Middle East, North Africa and their diaspora, and to building cross-cultural creative networks." from the website

Founded in 1947, the National Art Education Association is the leading professional membership organization exclusively for visual arts educators.

Founded in 1944, NASAD is an organization of schools, conservatories, colleges, and universities with approximately 349 accredited institutional members. It establishes national standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees and other credentials for art and design and art/design-related disciplines, and provides assistance to institutions and individuals engaged in artistic, scholarly, educational, and other art/design-related endeavors.

The Society for Photographic Education is a nonprofit membership organization that provides and fosters an understanding of photography as a means of diverse creative expression, cultural insight, and experimental practice. Through its interdisciplinary programs, services and publications, the society seeks to promote a broader understanding of the medium in all its forms through teaching and learning, scholarship, and criticism.

UCDA inspires designers working in academia in North America and around the world by delivering relevant programming and benefits in a personal and thoughtful way. The organization provides for the professional and personal growth of its members, and advocates for designer and educators roles within their institution. UCDA works to elevate the importance of design overall.

The University Film and Video Association (UFVA) is an organization of professors, scholars, and film and video makers.The organization is based in the U.S.; it has members throughout the world. The UFVA is an international organization where media production and writing meet history, theory and criticism. The UFVA members are image-makers and artists, teachers and students, archivists and distributors, college departments, libraries, and manufacturers. UFVA holds an annual conference and publishes the Journal of Film and Video, a periodical featuring articles on film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics. The UFVA is one of the principal U.S. academic organizations for studying media.

Listing of top design websites, blogs, magazines, and designers.