Scholarly Research, Writing and Publishing for Design

This journal focuses on applying principles of ergonomic design to the management and planning of work and social systems. Articles cover the practical application of ergonomic design principles in industry and office settings, as well as in the design of consumer products and technologies. Also includes a section describing recently issued patents. (Threlkeld, Robert)
ML 03-22-2007

Published quarterly by the College Art Association (CAA), The Art Bulletin serves as a forum for leading scholarship and debate in contemporary art-historical practice. Research articles cover all periods, many in Western art, and are usually accompanied by color and black-and-white images. Abstracts of each article are provided in the table of contents, and articles include bibliographic notes. See CAA's online portal for table of contents archives back to 1996; plus there are job listings in the arts and other benefits to members. The Art Bulletin is considered essential for all research collections and academic libraries. URL: www.collegeart.org (Dankert, Holly Stec)
ML 04-02-2018

The primary magazine for reporting on international contemporary art, Artforum International is accessible to a wide audience. Within this title, the critical articles on all media-sculpture, painting, installation, architecture, video and music art, mixed media, and popular culture-frequently include artist interviews. Glossy ads proliferate, featuring the latest shows at galleries around the world. Regular reviews cover individual artists, gallery exhibits, film, music, books, top-ten lists, and other art world events. Included three times a year are previews of 50 upcoming exhibitions. A calendar of international art events is provided in every issue. The magazine's website offers worthwhile extras: an international museum finder, blogs, festivals/biennials, free art resources, art zines, news briefs, and the like. Essential for all art libraries, collectors, and curators of contemporary art. Highly recommended for all academic and large public libraries. URL: www.artforum.com (Dankert, Holly Stec)
ML 04-02-2018

Art Journal is an academic periodical published by the College Art Association. Recent changes in the editorial board are continuing a commitment to publishing in print and on the web, creating a dialogue among educators who teach art, design, criticism and theory, art history, visual culture, and makers of art. Articles are of a scholarly nature and focus on cultural change reflected in the visual arts, selecting "vital, intellectually compelling, and visually engaging" subjects of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Contemporary works and artists are featured, with black-and-white and color illustrations. Highly recommended for all academic libraries, especially those with studio or history of art departments. (Dankert, Holly Stec)
ML 04-02-2018

Communication Arts is a high-quality trade publication for commercial artists. Issues serve as juried showcases for leading work in advertising, design, illustration, interactive design, typography, and photography. Included are feature articles that may profile design studios and artists, or highlight special advertising and design projects. Informative columns cover typography, design trends, advertising, business advice, and new books. Additional features are available online. This title is an important addition to any graphic arts collection. URL: www.commarts.com (Smith, Donna B.)
ML 04-02-2018

This scholarly journal focuses on the history, criticism, and theory of design. Regular issues offer six to eight articles on diverse perspectives of past and present design issues. Some issues feature special guest editors. Themed issues present broad topics such as design research and practices in various countries, artificial intelligence, and the state of design education throughout the world. The journal provides an international forum in which to explore the various dimensions of design, not only as a professional practice, but also as an economic force and a form of cultural art. This journal is an important addition to academic libraries that support a design program. (Smith, Donna B.)
ML 04-02-2018

Noted for its articles combined with extraordinary visual material, this journal is an important addition to any graphic design collection. It focuses on typography, history, art direction, and graphic design for multimedia, advertising, publishing, and the web. Features include interviews with international designers, overviews of new trends in graphic design, and profiles of design studios. Regular columns provide critiques and book reviews. Article extracts from past issues are available online. URL: www.eyemagazine.com (Smith, Donna B.)
ML 04-02-2018

This interdisciplinary, scholarly journal brings together the work of researchers from the broad range of fields that contribute to the field of human-computer interaction, including interface development, cognitive science, system design, and user science. Topics covered include web-development and graphic design, users' cognitive perception of technology interfaces, software development, open-source software, touch-based system design, and visual search methodologies. The magazine is published quarterly, and features occasional special issues that are dedicated to covering specific topics. Recent special issues include human-computer interaction and transnational issues, and assessing the impact of technology on our ability to understand and participate in the world around us. Recommended for academic libraries. (Mealey, Nathan)
ML 04-02-2018

This international, English-language journal focuses on graphic design, typography, written language, and how these impact and aid different segments of society. Peer-reviewed and scholarly in nature, Information Design Journal publishes research papers, case studies, book reviews, and critiques of information design and related theory. Illustrative material is highly prized for inclusion in article submissions. This title's intended audience is multidisciplinary, from fields such as communication design, writing, typography, applied linguistics, discourse studies, instructional design, and graphic design. (Smith, Donna B.)
ML 04-02-2018

This new journal is open access and thus can be difficult to judge for libraries. That being said, open-access journals are marketed by librarians via lists and word of mouth. Recent articles include "Creating Economic Value by Design" and "Cross-Functional Cooperation with Design Teams in New Product Development." Articles such as these will allow the journal to spread far beyond its Asian roots. In fact, the articles are written by Europeans as well as Asian, and English is the lingua franca. (Williams, Claibourne)
ML 04-02-2018

The Journal of Design History is the official publication for the Design History Society. The scholarly articles present new research in the field as well as provide an exchange of ideas and dialogue for addressing current issues of concern. In addition to the immediate audience of design historians, designers, and museum personnel, this periodical will appeal to a cross-section of academics due to its interdisciplinary nature. Articles related to anthropology, architectural history, business history, cultural studies, design management studies, economic and social history, history of science, technology, and sociology appear in this multifaceted journal. It is a critical acquisition for all academic libraries that support design programs. Mary N. Hernandez
ML 03-15-2000

Journal of Interior Design is the only scholarly title for the interior design profession. Published by the Interior Design Educators Council, it focuses on education, practice, research, and theory, providing scholars and teachers with a forum for "scientific applications of design principles," historical research, and design processes in theory and practice. Each issue contains three to five articles that explore a wide variety of topics in interiors, from case studies to historic reviews. The council's web site provides annual conference, membership, graduate program, and other information pertinent to design educators. Recommended for all academic collections that serve design programs. URL: www.idec.org (Dankert, Holly Stec)
ML 04-02-2018

Sponsored by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the Journal of Mechanical Design (in print and online) seeks papers on all areas of design, but especially those discussing design synthesis. This monthly journal publishes peer-reviewed original research papers, topical review papers, technical briefs, books reviews, and more. Design areas featured in the journal include design automation, education, and innovation, design theory and methodology, design of mechanisms and robotic systems as well as direct contact systems, and more. Research papers appearing in recent issues discuss a new 4D printing method, a review of the operation strategies used in the design of microgrippers, the influence of designers' mental states on design outcomes, and more. The journal supports open-access publishing, features design innovation papers frequently, and publishes special issues. Recent special issues focus on design theory and methodology, and simulation-based design. In addition to the current and past issues, the journal website provides easy access to "Accepted Manuscripts" and "Published ahead of Print" papers. This journal will appeal to educators and researchers working in engineering design education, but especially those in mechanical engineering and associated fields (e.g., energy and power, manufacturing, among others). URL: http://mechanicaldesign.asmedigitalcollection.asme.org/journal.aspx (Calcagno, Theresa)
ML 04-02-2018

The Journal of Product Innovation Management (print ISSN: 0737-6782, online ISSN: 1540-5885) is affiliated with the Product Development and Management Association (PDMA), the professional organization of corporate practitioners of new product development. It is an interdisciplinary, international, academic journal devoted to the latest research, theory, and practice in new product and service development. The journal publishes three types of articles: original theoretical or empirical research articles that are double-blind peer-reviewed; "From Experience" articles, describing new perspectives and techniques to improve new products and services; and "Perspective" articles, which include essays and the application of theory to actual activities. The scope of the journal includes organizations of all sizes (start-ups, small;b2medium enterprises, large), from the consumer, business-to-business, and institutional domains. The journal is a benefit of PDMA membership, but subscriptions are also available directly from the publisher. Two book reviews round out each issue. Published bimonthly with an additional special issue each year, the journal is of interest to scholars, managers, executives, and new-product professionals. It is extensively referenced in business and engineering indexing and abstracting services. Recommended for academic libraries that support business and industrial engineering studies, and corporate libraries that support new-product development. URL: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/10.1111/(ISSN)1540-5885 (Plungis, Joan)
ML 01-11-2017

The purpose of this high-quality journal is to provide thorough and wide-ranging coverage of the graphic design field. Directed mainly at practitioners, it provides in-depth articles on pertinent topics. Half of the six issues published each year are devoted to juried showcases of leading work in graphic design. The annual "Regional Design" issue organizes artists' work by geographic region. Highly aware of the development of digital technology, Print offers a "Digital Design and Illustration" issue that explores the effects of computers on design. This title is an important addition to any graphic design collection. Also available online. (Wood, Wendy)
ML 04-02-2018

Depicting the human sensorium as an "ever-shifting social and historical construct" rather than a conglomeration of biophysics processes, the editors of this interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal seek to dispel the modernist presumption of the unity of the human body. Although this disruption won't be accomplished overnight, the March 2006 issue is a good start, as Ala Alryyes writes on Daniel Defoe's ability to use accidental details to create sensual depth in his novels. For libraries with strong humanities collections. - Clayton A. Couch, Library Journal.
LJ 11-01-2006

This scholarly journal is concerned with written language (as opposed to verbal language) and its impact on humanity and civilization. Literacy is a frequent topic, but there are also many others, including typography, the effect of computer technology on the written word, and semantics. Many issues are devoted to a specific topic. Visible Language is important reading for language scholars and researchers. (Wood, Wendy)
ML 04-02-2018