POL 201: Introduction to Political Science

Getting Help

Research Help

	Library Service Desk Ground floor, AUS Library
	06 5152277
	researchhelp@aus.edu
	Open during library hours

For help during academic calendar weekends, final exams & semester breaks, email: researchhelp@aus.edu

Modified hours for Ramadan & summer semester

Exploring Topics

Selecting a topic for a research paper can be difficult. You may have a several ideas, but perhaps you're not sure how to explore them. Review a few of these resources to help you.

Review Encyclopedia Britannica (library database)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context, select Browse Issues (library database)
Search WorldCat (library's discovery tool)
Explore Human Rights Watch website
Review news sites such as Al-Jazeera and BBC

Human Rights Watch This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Watch is a leading independent organization dedicated to defending and protecting human rights. Publishes the annual Human Rights Watch Annual Reports, as well as reports on specific regions, topics and human rights issues.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
With contributions from Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors and other notable experts, Britannica Academic provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else. Also includes the World Atlas, World Factbook, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Opposing Viewpoints features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

Finding Background Information

Get your research started by discovering the relevant background information on your topic. Examining encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and glossaries are great resources to start your research. The content often assumes no prior knowledge about a topic or subject and entries provide a general overview. You may also learn about the jargon associated with the subject or the discipline.

The list below offers a selection of resources that may be helpful in finding background information for you topic.

Last Updated: Oct 28, 2024 9:26 AM
URL: https://aus.libguides.com/POL201
Print Page

Subjects: International Studies, Social Sciences

Tags: course specific guide, polisci, political_science, politics