LibGuides: POL 201: Introduction to Political Science: Find Journal Articles

Getting Help

Research Help

	Library Service Desk Ground floor, AUS Library
	06 5152277
	researchhelp@aus.edu
	Open during library hours

For help during academic calendar weekends, final exams & semester breaks, email: researchhelp@aus.edu

Modified hours for Ramadan & summer semester

Finding Databases

Library databases are electronic collections of journals.

The library subscribes to many databases where you will find articles related to political science.

Review the center column of this page to learn which databases will be helpful for your research.

Databases by subject
When you reuse this box, copy it instead of linking it and then replace this link with the appropriate subject for your LibGuide

Find Journal Articles

You can find scholarly articles through the library resources and more. To ensure that you discover relevant resources, spend time searching:

Library databases
WorldCat
Google Scholar

Basic search strategies in these resources will help you find relevant results:

You can start your research with a keyword strategy:

[your topic] AND [what you would like to do with your topic]

Examples:

"political theory" AND "public policy"

"comparative politics" AND "first world democracies"

"international relations" AND globalization

Databases by subject
When you reuse this box, copy it instead of linking it and then replace this link with the appropriate subject for your LibGuide
Google Scholar

Library Databases

Search the library databases to find articles from scholarly journals.

To access, go to:

library.aus.edu,
select Databases by Title,
use the alphabetical list to find your preferred database.

Below is a list of selected databases that may be helpful with your research.

Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Presents information on the "state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture." Includes articles on Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.
Human Rights Watch This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Watch is a leading independent organization dedicated to defending and protecting human rights. Publishes the annual Human Rights Watch Annual Reports, as well as reports on specific regions, topics and human rights issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication, as well as book chapters. Please note that the current volume of a journal is NOT available on JSTOR; the latest volume available on JSTOR is usually 3-5 years old.
New York Times Company This link opens in a new window
With award-winning journalism and commentary, including video, photos, infographics, podcasts and more, The New York Times has long been considered one of the world's most trusted news sources.
Users must create a personal account to access this resource. To create an account: 1. go to nytimes.com/grouppass (from on-campus) or nytimes.com/passes (from off-campus), 2. create a free account using your AUS email address 3. access NYTimes.com or the NYTimes app from anywhere. Users will need to renew their passes annually by following these steps.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. Access over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals and over 5000 eBooks from 200+ leading publishers.
ProQuest India Database This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource of full-text, scholarly journals published in India, supporting many subjects, including business, medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. It provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
ProQuest Middle East & Africa Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
ProQuest Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
SIPRI Databases This link opens in a new window
The Stockhold International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) provides high-quality, up-to-date information about conflicts, arms transfers, military expenditure, international organizations, economic & social statistics. and chronologies. Contains: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends, SIPRI data on military expenditure, database on national export control systems, and Educational Module on Chemical and Biological Weapons (CBW) Non-proliferation.
United Nations Statistics Division This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Statistics Division compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. Their statistics covers a wide range of themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

WorldCat