United Arab Emirates

The Arabian Gulf Digital Archive (“AGDA”) is an online archive that has been created to showcase historical and cultural material that tells the story of the rich, intriguing and complex history of the Arabian Gulf. An accessible resource, it serves to offer digital material that spans two centuries, documenting events and personalities that have shaped and defined the region. The contents offer an insight into the past with some material previously unseen by the general public. AGDA contains, among other things, letters, memos, transcripts, photos and official correspondence from leaders and governments that shaped the events of their time. It’s a free and open resource for students, researchers, enthusiasts and anyone who is curious to explore the rich and varied past of the Arabian Gulf.

Print and E-journal
We produce AramcoWorld to increase cross-cultural understanding by broadening knowledge of the histories, cultures and geography of the Arab and Muslim worlds and their global interconnections, past and present. Back issues from 1960 are searchable, and texts are available in full; photographs from archival articles are online from 2004 to the present. AramcoWorld is published in Houston, Texas by Aramco Services Company, a subsidiary of Saudi Aramco.

The BFSA is a charitable organisation that exists to advance public knowledge through the promotion of research relating to the cultural and natural heritage of the Arabian Peninsula.

Non-profit organization for individuals with an interest in the natural history of the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

Mission: Sharing the beauty, innovative design ideas and stories of Gulf art, architecture, culture, history and society.

Heart of Sharjah is the largest historical preservation and restoration project in the region. Planned over a 15 year period, to be completed by 2025, it seeks to revitalize the heritage district as a vibrant cultural destination by unraveling a glorious past - restoring historical buildings, constructing new structures following traditional Sharjah architecture and transforming them into hotels, restaurants, cafes, art galleries and markets, where the current generations and the future generations can experience Sharjah's cultural and social fabric.

YouTube channel of Huntley Film Archives includes a selection of films from their collections. Huntley Film Archives is one of the largest independent film libraries in the UK, with a collection of more than 80,000 titles.

ICCROM-ATHAR (Architectural and Archaeological Tangible Heritage in the Arab Region) is a regional conservation centre founded by ICCROM (International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property), and the Government of the Emirate of Sharjah.

The International Association for the Study of Arabia, IASA, (formerly the British Foundation for the Study of Arabia) exists to promote research relating to the Arabian Peninsula and, in particular, its archaeology, history, epigraphy, languages, literature, art, culture, ethnography, geography, geology and natural history. It does this by:
– awarding research grants,
– producing its own publications and supporting others,
– disseminating news of new research and events connected with Arabia, and
– organizing lectures and conferences, in particular the annual Seminar for Arabian Studies.

The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is making a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online for the first time. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.