LibGuides: ENG 210 Introduction to Literature: Key Databases

Featured Resource

Masterplots by Laurence W. Mazzeno
Call Number: PN44 .M33 2011 - Reference Collection - 1st Floor
ISBN: 9781587655685
Publication Date: 2010-11-01

Masterplots analyzes the most important literary works in all genres—long fiction, short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction—throughout history and around the world, helping to define and critique the literary canon.

Also available online:
Masterplots

Finding Databases

Databases are electronic collections of journals.

The library subscribes to many databases where you will find articles related to Linguistics, Language and Literature.

See our databases page for a complete list:

Language and Literature Databases

Key Databases

Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Our subscription to Salem Press includes Masterplots 4th ed., a reference work that summarizes the plots of significant works of literature and films; select Critical Surveys of fiction; and the Encyclopedia of Energy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication, as well as book chapters. Please note that the current volume of a journal is NOT available on JSTOR; the latest volume available on JSTOR is usually 3-5 years old.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is an extensive general reference resource, encompassing more than 160 subjects, with reliable and authoritative information from around the world. Content is aggregated from journals, newspapers, as well as from industry reports and company profiles.
English Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new window
[Abstract-only] The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is a vast database designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED provides an authoritative and comprehensive record of the English language, tracing the evolution and use of words. Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.