This well-illustrated publication would appeal to academics as well as those who are interested in the theater. Each issue includes articles, book reviews, and production reviews. They frequently feature the text of new plays in their entirety. Occasionally, they will include interviews. A recent issue featured an interview with Beth Henley. The website of its publisher, Theatre Communications Group, offers the full text of all the feature articles in the current issue. This journal is an important title for any college or university library, as well as any large public library that addresses the needs of dedicated theatergoers. (McKeigue, Elizabeth)
The classic magazine Plays continues to provide an essential resource to school drama programs everywhere. It contains between 9 and 12 short plays, with subjects ranging from historic to holidays, to skits and comedies, to dramatized classics. Plays are arranged by general grade level, and each contains production notes that include casting and staging suggestions. The plays are not copyright-free, but any current subscriber may produce copies for the cast and produce the play royalty-free. This magazine should be included in the library of any school with a drama program or club. It should also be included in public libraries' children's collections. (McKeigue, Elizabeth)
This publication addresses the specific technical needs of "regional, academic, and community" theaters, although the best audience would probably be community and small academic theater groups. Each issue has six to ten articles on such technical aspects of performance production as cost-saving ideas, dramatic effects and techniques, and computer control issues. There is also supplier information, articles describing particular theaters and their companies, columns on computers and networked resources, and book reviews. This magazine's online version includes the tables of contents for each issue published since 1988, and links to selected articles online. It is a useful resource for any public library with an active community theater or any academic library that supports a drama program. (McKeigue, Elizabeth)
This scholarly journal features historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Each issue contains approximately six articles, a performance review section, and book reviews. The articles are substantial and refereed. They may cover topics from a social or historical point of view, or they may analyze text. Occasionally, the articles will be organized around a central theme. The performance review section contains reviews of American theater productions, although some foreign productions do appear. Regional theaters and repertory company productions are well covered. College and university libraries with drama or comparative literature programs should seriously consider subscribing to this journal. (McKeigue, Elizabeth)
This monthly publication remains a pillar of any library's core collection in dance, as it continuously provides comprehensive treatment of both dance performance and dance education in the United States. Dance Magazine is, perhaps, the longest running dance periodical in the country, and it can be counted on for dance news, event listings, advice, and profiles geared toward the entire dance community nationwide. The publication also includes regular features covering a breadth of practitioners across ballet, modern, and theatrical dance. The information found here would be of equal value to dance educators, practitioners, and students desiring to learn and stay connected to contemporary trends in American dance. (Sherman, Leah)
Journal Alerts and RSS Feeds
Have a favorite journal?
Why not create an alert or RSS feed for it's table of contents to keep you up to date with the latest issue?
Also, you can perform a publication search in the database and browse the issue that interests you.