JSTOR is an online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication, as well as book chapters. Please note that the current volume of a journal is NOT available on JSTOR; the latest volume available on JSTOR is usually 3-5 years old.
[Abstract-only] The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index that includes books, book chapters, journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations on criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, general and comparative literature and of all modern languages and literatures.
[Abstract-only] The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is a vast database designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.
ProQuest Central is an extensive general reference resource, encompassing more than 160 subjects, with reliable and authoritative information from around the world. Content is aggregated from journals, newspapers, as well as from industry reports and company profiles.
Offers coverage of journal titles in areas related to communication and mass media. Major areas of coverage include: Communications, Mass Media, Journalism, Television, Radio, Newspaper Publishing, Speech, Broadcasting, Communication Theory and Advertising.
Authoritative and comprehensive record of the English language, tracing the evolution and use of words. Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.