LibGuides: Mass Communication: Key Databases

Finding Databases

Databases are electronic collections of journals.

Although there are several databases that cover a variety of topic related to mass communication, start your research with Communication and Mass Media Complete Database.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Key Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD, A+E Networks' HISTORY and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication, as well as book chapters. Please note that the current volume of a journal is NOT available on JSTOR; the latest volume available on JSTOR is usually 3-5 years old.
New York Times Company This link opens in a new window
With award-winning journalism and commentary, including video, photos, infographics, podcasts and more, The New York Times has long been considered one of the world's most trusted news sources.
Users must create a personal account to access this resource. To create an account: 1. go to nytimes.com/grouppass (from on-campus) or nytimes.com/passes (from off-campus), 2. create a free account using your AUS email address 3. access NYTimes.com or the NYTimes app from anywhere. Users will need to renew their passes annually by following these steps.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. Access over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals and over 5000 eBooks from 200+ leading publishers.
ProQuest Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database covers a variety of subjects: Art, Design, Archaeology, Anthropology, Classical Studies, Architecture, History, Philosophy, Geography, Modern Languages, Literature, Cultural Studies and Music. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
ProQuest Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe for the modern researcher as well as growing archive of news indexed and accessible through the familiar & popular research functionality of the ProQuest platform.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. It provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic combines all four of ProQuest’s multidisciplinary products on the ProQuest platform (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete, and Academic Video Online).
ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published in Turkey. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is a comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works.

Getting Help

Research Help

	Library Service Desk Ground floor, AUS Library
	06 5152277
	researchhelp@aus.edu
	Open during library hours

For help during academic calendar weekends, final exams & semester breaks, email: researchhelp@aus.edu

Modified hours for Ramadan & summer semester