LibGuides: Film Studies: Key Databases

Finding Databases

Databases are electronic collections of journals.

The library subscribes to many databases where you will find articles related to film studies.

See our databases page for a complete list:

Databases by subject
When you reuse this box, copy it instead of linking it and then replace this link with the appropriate subject for your LibGuide

Key Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD, A+E Networks' HISTORY and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to the back-files of core scholarly journals from 42 academic disciplines including Film Studies.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. Access over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals and over 5000 eBooks from 200+ leading publishers.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic combines all four of ProQuest’s multidisciplinary products on the ProQuest platform (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete, and Academic Video Online).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
[Abstract-only] Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is a comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works.

Getting Help