Urban Planning

The sister magazine to JA: the Japan Architect, A + U covers international architecture. Profusely illustrated, it is one of several titles that are largely devoted to building studies (see also, for example, the GA publications such as GA Document). Issues focus on an international architect or firm, or architects and architecture in a particular city or region. Essays and interviews appear on the pages of A + U, but most pages are filled with the meticulously detailed building studies. Each study is composed of several paragraphs of description and numerous illustrations, details, plans, elevations, and conceptual drawings. Brief biographies of the architects whose work appears in the issues are always included. Text is in both Japanese and English. Tables of contents beginning with issue 353 (2002) are available online; the full text is only available in the printed issues or the digital issues available for purchase by individuals. Recommended for architecture libraries. (Trendler, Amy)
ML 04-02-2018

An international and interdisciplinary title, Cities: The International Journal of Urban Policy and Planning has the primary aims "to analyze and assess past and present urban development and management as a reflection of effective, ineffective and non-existent planning policies; and the promotion of the implementation of appropriate urban policies in both the developed and the developing world." This is truly an all-encompassing journal in that it covers topics in the developed and undeveloped world that include housing, homelessness, urban management, public-private sector cooperation, Third World development and planning problems, urban regeneration, urban conservation and design, technological innovation and urban planning, and urban transportation. Volumes (no numbered issues) are published throughout the year, usually every other month, but variations in the publication frequency exist. Individual volumes of Cities present varying amounts of original research articles (anywhere from eight to 30+). Volumes can feature a city profile (recent cities profiled include Santiago, Chile, Wroclaw, Poland, and Jaipur, India) that details the historical development and the contemporary conditions and problems of the city, as well as a critique of current policy and any responses. A "Viewpoints" section has also resumed with more regularity of late. Since the last review, Cities has trended toward publishing their supplement Current Research on Cities (CRoC) as sections within the numbered volumes and not separately. The publisher offers an RSS feed for open-access articles and new volume alerts. Though this title is expensive, the increase in the number of articles published per volume and their quality make Cities fairly easy to highly recommend for academic libraries and general academic collections. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

Effective as of January 2017 Environment and Planning B (EPB) has updated its subtitle to Urban Analytics and City Science yet still remains one of four journals in the Environment and Planning family. The focus of EPB is addressing spatial problems of the built environment, particularly "how formal models can be used to explore how cities and their elements behave, reproduce, evolve, or impact upon urban forms and functions, and on the livability, equality and sustainability of cities." This title is published six times a year, and each issue produces between eight and ten research articles and book reviews that vary in number from issue to issue. Issues may contain commentary and/or editorial pieces. EPB is recommended for academic libraries, specifically those with a technology component in the program. Information Technology or Computer Science programs may also find this title useful. For a more technical (and expensive) title on the same theme, see Computers, Environment and Urban Systems in this section. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

Published in cooperation with the Association of European Schools of Planning (AESOP), an independent group of European planning educators, European Planning Studies looks to publish original, scholarly research on "spatial development processes and policies." This title places an emphasis on "infrastructure, communications, environmental quality, design, cultural, social welfare, recreational, housing, [and] industrial and employment concerns of planning at whatever spatial scale." This journal is published monthly, and each issue includes several original research articles. Frequently, a special themed issues is published. Other sections-"European Briefing," "Research Briefing," and "Book Reviews"-occasionally appear. The institutional subscription cost is on the higher end, but if you look at the publication frequency, the cost per article does bring it into comparison with a similar title, European Urban and Regional Studies. Recommended for academic libraries that maintain a comprehensive collection or have a European focus in the program. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

Habitat International is a highly regarded international refereed journal whose main focus is on urbanization in the developing world, with special depth in housing issues. Its international emphasis is reflected in the international membership of its editorial board and authorship. This quarterly also explores the interplay of changes in the economic, social, technological, and political systems of one region with other regions. The articles (with abstracts) are interdisciplinary, with an intended audience of urban planners, human and physical geographers, housing analysts, and sociologists. This journal includes occasional thematic issues;b1for example, "Urbanization in China." Most issues include book reviews. Recommended for college and research libraries. (Sommer, Deborah)
ML 03-11-2008

As the title implies, Housing Studies publishes on all aspects of housing issues. A scholarly journal, it claims to be "the leading international journal and a major forum for theoretical and analytical developments in the housing field." The journal is published eight times a year and includes original articles and three to five book reviews per issue. The geographic coverage is international. Housing Studies is interdisciplinary in its approach to the study of urban areas and welcomes articles with a similar approach. It does offer a nice mix of content that appeals to academics and practitioners, and some even for the average reader, as this reviewer experienced. Recommended for academic libraries. Public Policy programs may also want to consider this title. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

The Journal has been cited in the work of leading human development organizations, such as the U.N. agency, the International Labor Organization (ILO), and for other important regional research.

The journal is edited by the Centre for Gulf Studies University of Exeter in association with Georgetown University, School of Foreign Service in Qatar. Since 2011, Georgetown University's dean, Dr. Gerd Nonneman has served as Associate Editor of the Journal, which is published by Routledge (Taylor & Francis).

The aim and scope of the journal covers a wide range of topics, in all disciplines in the social sciences and the humanities. It presents the results of new observations and original research, providing authoritative information in an accessible way to appeal to the general reader as well as the specialist.

Submissions are welcome in anthropology, archaeology, architecture, Arabic literature, archives, cultural studies, economics, ethnography, gender studies, geopolitics, history (ancient to modern), human geography, Indian Ocean studies, international relations, Islamic studies, linguistics, literature, material culture, maritime culture, media studies, migration studies, political economy, political Islam, political science, security studies, socio-linguistics, sociology, travel literature, and urban studies.

The journal also publishes book reviews on the same subjects and asks publishers to send their books to the relevant book review editors.

The Journal of Housing Economics provides a focal point for the publication of economic research related to housing. It encourages papers that bring to bear careful analytical technique on important housing-related questions. (Cronin, Jeff)
ML 04-02-2018

The Journal of Planning Education and Research is the scholarly journal of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP). The ACSP is a consortium of universities that offer credentials in urban and regional planning and that are committed to understanding and improving the versatility of urban and regional development and subsequently to improve education on the subject matter. Published quarterly, the Journal of Planning Education and Research includes six to eight articles per issue. Each article contains an abstract. Articles are a mix of case studies, theory, and pedagogy that focus on the United States. Some recent article topics include food systems, autonomous vehicles, and expanding the education of planners. Issues also include upwards of eight book reviews. Boasting the highest percentage increase of citations in social sciences, this journal is a core title and highly recommended for academic libraries, specifically those with planning programs as well as appropriate special libraries. Economics and political science disciplines may also find this title of note. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

The Journal of Planning Literature is an international, scholarly journal composed of review articles and abstracts that focus on recent publications in the regional planning and design field. Published quarterly, the JPL "aims to give the reader an understanding of the state of knowledge of the field for use in research or professional practice." Each issue includes an average of three review articles, a Council of Planning Librarians (CPL) bibliography, hundreds of abstracts from journal articles and dissertations, and an author and subject index of entries. Three broad subject headings are used to organize the citations: "History/Theory/Administration," "Methodology/Quantitative/Economic/Qualitative," and "Physical/Environmental." Some issues contain book reviews. The journal's website (published by Sage) does provide the ability to search the journal in its entirety, which is a nice feature given the aim and format of the journal. An excellent resource for practitioners, scholars, and students, and a core title for Urban Studies programs, JPL is highly recommended for academic libraries and appropriate special libraries. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

This is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal created to publish empirical and theoretical research on real estate using the methodologies of finance and economics. The subject areas include urban economics, housing, and public policy. Examples of published research include "Return Relationships Between Listed Banks and Real Estate Firms: Evidence from Seven Asian Economies," "Price Effects of Non-Traditionally Broker-Marketed Properties," and "Reduced Form Mortgage Pricing as an Alternative to Option-Pricing Models." Most authors are drawn from academia. This journal is best suited for academic or special libraries. (Cronin, Jeff)
ML 04-02-2018

The official scholarly journal of the American Planning Association, the Journal of the American Planning Association (JAPA) publishes original research and analysis in four issues per year. The type of research published by JAPA includes methodology of planning practice and implementation, policy formulation and implementation, and explanations of empirical relationships related to planning. This research examines "the historical or contemporary planning experience in domestic or global contexts." Each issue contains an average of five to seven original research articles and a large book review section. A themed issue is published on occasion. Articles focus heavily on North America but do include some international coverage, predominantly in comparative research articles. Members of the American Planning Association (APA) receive a discount on the subscription cost to the journal. Subscribers can download articles for free from the online archive. Taylor & Francis hosts this title at www.tandfonline.com/toc/rjpa20. Highly regarded in the field, JAPA is a core title and is highly recommended for academic libraries. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

A scholarly journal, the Journal of Urban Design publishes articles relating to all aspects of urban design, considered a core knowledge component of a planning education. Some subject areas within urban design that are covered include urban aesthetics and townscape, sustainable development, preservation and conservation, local and regional identity, and urban regeneration. The journal occasionally publishes special issues. Each issue produces an average of five to seven original articles, highly international in coverage and each containing an abstract, as well as a varying number of book reviews. Editorials as well as commentary pieces are published occasionally. Recent special issues have focused on urban design during a recession and urban regeneration. This journal is an optional member benefit for those in the Regional Studies Association. The Journal of Urban Design is highly recommended for academic libraries. Architecture programs should also find this title relevant. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

A respected journal in its field, the Journal of Urban Economics publishes scholarly work on a wide range of topics and approaches. Three recent articles illustrate this scope: "A simple theory of smart growth and sprawl," "Immigration and housing rents in American cities," and "Depreciation of housing capital, maintenance, and house price inflation: Estimates from a repeat sales model." Also featured are brief notes and an index in the last issue of each volume. This journal has some technical articles. Primarily for economists, but those interested in urban economic issues such as local public finance, transportation, and housing will also benefit. (Crowley, Gwyneth H.)
ML 01-12-2009

The Journal of Urban Planning and Development is the journal of the American Society of Civil Engineers, Transportation and Development Institute and Urban Planning and Development Division. As the journal's organizational affiliation suggests, this scholarly journal focuses on the application of civil engineering to public works and the physical infrastructure of cities, with an emphasis on urban transportation planning. Subjects range from environmental assessment to land-use planning and underground utilities. Each issue offers five or more "technical papers" as well as occasional opinion essays, discussions, and book reviews. Recent articles include "New Designing the Walkable City" and "Sustainable Urban Transportation: Concepts, policies, and methodologies." Special issues are occasionally issued, for example, "Innovating Regulations in Urban Planning and Development." For large academic and public libraries; also of interest to civil engineering collections. (Sommer, Deborah)
ML 03-11-2008

The Journal of Urban Technology publishes original research articles that focus on technology and its impact on cities. The journal aims to educate its readers as well as to foster discussion about maximizing the positive impact, and subsequently minimizing the negative impact, that these technologies pose to cities. The journal is scholarly and international in coverage, and publishes four issues per year. Each issue tends to include an editorial, an average of five research articles, and a book review section. Special theme issues are published frequently. Geared for both practitioners and the general public, the understandable articles help foster the sought-after discussion between specialists and non-specialists; thus, this journal separates itself from the other technology-based journals in this section. The journal is recommended for academic libraries and large public libraries. Libraries that support information technology programs may also find it useful. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 01-17-2014

Landscape and Urban Planning focuses attention on "the interrelated nature of problems posed by nature and human use of land." Interdisciplinary and international in approach, the publication has traditionally presented a diverse array of issues over the years, ranging from landscape ecology in Sweden to landscape planning in Asia and urban design in rural New England. Thematic issues are published on occasion; individual articles frequently include black-and-white maps, charts, and diagrams with infrequent color illustrations. Intended primarily for a specialized academic landscape architecture audience, Landscape and Urban Planning would also be of benefit for any research collection that supports urban and environmental studies, geography, or planning. Electronic full-text versions of articles are available with a subscription. (Tomlin, Patrick)
ML 04-02-2018

Most issues of this refereed quarterly are guest-edited and focused on a topical theme related to housing, neighborhoods, or urbanism. Articles are contributed by worldwide educators, scholars, and the occasional designer. Small black-and-white photographs, plans, charts, and maps illustrate the journal, but the main value here is the research and projects detailed by the authors. The journal and archives are available online for subscribers, and the archives may also be purchased on DVD or online. Recommended for architecture libraries. (Trendler, Amy)
ML 04-02-2018

Real Estate Economics is a leading scholarly journal for real estate-related topics published by the American Real Estate and Urban Economics Association. According to the publisher, the focus of this journal is "to facilitate communication among academic researchers and industry professionals and to improve the analysis of real estate decisions." Articles are substantial and quite technical. Examples of recent articles include "A Comparison of Nonparametric Methods to Measure Efficiency in the Savings and Loan Industry," "Tax Rules and the Sale of Leaseback of Corporate Real Estate," and "An Analysis of Resolution Trust Corporation Transactions: Auction Market Process and Pricing." The publisher's web site provides article abstracts back to 2001 and free full-text access from volume one (1973) through 2000. (Cronin, Jeff)
ML 04-02-2018

This journal focuses on the microeconomic analyses of spatial phenonmena. Throughout the four to seven articles per issue are formulas and theoretical discussions and statistical analyses. Articles exploring American suburbanization and urban economic forces indicate the value of this journal to the urban studies area. There was also a recent special issue on rent control economics. However, even though it is relevant to the field of urban studies, its theoretical and economic nature makes it suitable only for university libraries with an economics or urban studies emphasis. Sarah E. Kirsch
ML 03-15-2000

Founded more than 100 years ago, Town Planning Review contributes to "the advancement of town and regional planning research in highly developed economies and in emerging industrial states." In addition to the roughly six research articles, issues can include short "Viewpoints" on a given subject presented by a single contributor; a "Commentary" section that provides an outlet for longer pieces of a similar nature; conference reports; review papers; and book reviews. The sections included in each issue vary. A scholarly journal, TPR is published six times a year, and the articles are heavily focused on European countries, but some international coverage has recently been included. The basic subscription price includes electronic access from 2002 to the present; a premium option is also available that includes access from 1910 onward. TPR has recently instituted tiered and multi-site institutional pricing for 2017. Recommended for academic libraries; highly recommended for academic, special, and larger urban public libraries in Europe. The journal is hosted by Metapress at http://liverpool.metapress.com/content/121633/ (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

Included as a member benefit from the Urban Land Institute (ULI), Urban Land is published six times a year and is available to members in print as well as electronically. Members also have electronic access to the archive going back to 1992. The general public can see articles dating back to 2010 at no charge. The online magazine contains additional content posted daily, and many of the articles are put online within two weeks of the print copies being mailed. The site for the online magazine is well developed and manageable. Apps for the iPad and Android products are available. Urban Land publishes articles that reflect the mission of the ULI, which is to work together (from landowners to lawyers to librarians) to create and promote best practices in, and sustainability of, community development. Urban Land focuses predominantly on North America, but has seen expansion to European and Asia Pacific region. The magazine publishes several feature articles and a number of pieces in recurrent segments such as "ULX," which provides ten items on a given topic (multi-family housing, holistic health design); a "Policy Perspective"; and a "Case Study." Color photographs accompany most of the articles. Urban Land includes book reviews in the "In Print" section. Although written for ULI members, this title is understandable and appropriate for the general public as well. Subscriptions are only available through a ULI membership, and those are somewhat expensive. On the whole, it is an enjoyable publication and is recommended for large public libraries as well as academic libraries. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

Local government law is wide-ranging and far-reaching. This publication of the American Bar Association's Section of Urban, State, and Local Government Law has a student editorial board based at the University of Missouri;b2Kansas City School of Law. Articles run the gamut represented by the section's scope, and cover such issues as gerrymandering, Superfund cleanups, sales tax incentive programs, governmental tort liability, airports, land-use planning and zoning, labor relations, and HUD housing. Each issue contains four or five articles, a section discussing cases and other recent developments, and occasional book reviews. (Williams, Austin Martin)
ML 01-27-2016

Originating in 1997, Urban Morphology is the journal of the International Seminar on Urban Form (ISUF). Urban morphology is the study of human settlements and the change that these settlements go through over time. Published twice a year, in April and October, Urban Morphology contains three to five research articles and a book review section. Reports from various meetings and seminars are also included, as well as a "Viewpoints" section that offers shorter opinion pieces on urban morphology topics. All images are published in black and white and, though this probably keeps the subscription price down, it would be nice to see some of them in color. The ISUF offers research articles from 1997 to 2005 in pdf format, freely available on its website. Articles are international in coverage. Membership to the ISUF is the only way to subscribe to this journal, and the membership cost is very reasonable. Recommended for academic libraries. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018

Published since 1964, Urban Studies is one of the core journals recommended to support an Urban Studies program. The journal publishes articles on any urban or regional problem associated with the social sciences. A scholarly journal, Urban Studies publishes 16 issues a year. Each issue contains at least ten original articles with abstracts and a handful of book reviews. Some issues have a theme, and in these themed issues there are no book reviews. The articles are international in coverage, with a slight bias toward Europe and the Americas. Articles are available online ahead of print, which is a nice feature, but it would be desirable to see a more dynamic site overall. Urban Studies is expensive for libraries in either print or electronic format, but note that this publication produces a high number of articles per issue; and the number of issues published per volume is higher than most publications in the field. It also may be relevant for Environmental Studies and/or Sociology programs, which also could help justify the cost. As a core title, essential for academic libraries. (Larsen, Alison)
ML 04-02-2018