Skip to main content
University Library

Proquest Flow

Flow is a new way to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. You can read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.

Create Collections

Collections are used within Flow used for organizing items similar to using tags. To create a collection, simply click “New collection” on the left hand side of the page. Name your collection and click “OK”. Your new collection will appear on the left hand side of the page under “Collections”.

Items can be assigned to multiple collections, but need only be in your Flow account once. 

Find Duplicates

Flow allows you to place an article in multiple collections, however, you may find that you have imported an article multiple times, resulting in duplicates.

You can easily identify duplicate articles within your Flow library and delete them.  To delete duplicate articles: Click on the "more" option and select “Find Duplicates”.  Flow will display duplicates, pre-selecting articles for deletion (the pre-selections appear in red).  Flow takes into consideration metadata, attached articles and the date an article was last modified date when pre-selecting articles.

Sort References

Click on All Documents, Recently Added or one of your collections.  Click on the sort options (the default sort is Author)​  to display your items by date added, date accessed,date published, title or author.

Search Documents

Use the” Search your library” box located at the top of the page.  This box searches all fields and any attached .pdf, MS Office or Open Office files.  You can search on a single word or a phrase.

Check for Full-text

If items in Flow do not have fulltext, click the link  Check for full-text.  Flow will automatically search the AUS Library collections for the full-text of the document.

Annotate Documents

You can annotate any of your own documents saved in Flow. You may be able to annotate documents shared with you if you have been given permission to annotate and/or modify the document. 

To annotate a document,select the reference with the document and click the "Read" button in the viewing pane. The document will display in the Flow reader.   Click the note  icon  from the reader menu and select the text area you wish to make a note for.  Your note will appear to the far right of the selected area and you have the option to change the color of your notes by clicking on the color of your choice in the note itself. 

Read Documents Offline

Flow allows you to view and read your documents without being connected to the internet using a service called Dropbox.   You’ll need to download the Dropbox installer and create a Dropbox account which you will link to your Flow account.
 
To link Flow to Dropbox:

  1.  Log into Flow.  (Go to http://flow.proquest.com and click the “Log In” link.)
  2.  Click your  name, then select “Settings” from the list of options.  
  3.  In the "General" section, scroll down until you see a section of the page called “Dropbox”.  Click the “Connect” button.
  4. If you have a Dropbox account, enter your login credentials and click “Sign in”.  If you are new to Dropbox, click the “create an account” link on the Dropbox site and download and install Dropbox on your computer.
  5. You will be asked to give Flow permission to create a folder in your Dropbox called “ProQuest Flow” in your Apps folder.  This is where Flow will place a copy of your articles.

You can only store your own articles in Dropbox – articles in shared collections are not included.  All of your articles (regardless of what Collection they are filed in) are saved to your ProQuest Flow dropbox in your Apps folder.
 
After you first set up your connection from Flow to Dropbox, newly uploaded documents are automatically saved in Dropbox as well as.  When you remove a document from your Flow library, we’ll also remove it from Dropbox.