Skip to main content
University Library

Proquest Flow

Flow is a new way to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. You can read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.

Save to Flow Directly

The “Save to Flow” button grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your Flow library. 

To add the "Save to Flow" button to your browser, click on your name in the upper right-hand corner and select “Tools”.   Simply drag the Save to Flow button to your browser.  Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click the Save to Flow button to capture the information.

You can save a set of search results or an individual article.  You can easily edit metadata prior to importing into Flow.

Drag and Drop

Flow makes it easy to add documents – just drag and drop one or more files and Flow will do the rest.
 
If you want to add your documents to a specific collection, make sure you’re viewing the collection first, then drag and drop the file(s).  If you’re dragging multiple files, Flow will create a separate item for each document.  Otherwise, drag and drop documents in the “All Documents” view and you can file them in collections once they are uploaded.

Flow will try to recognize and populate the reference information using our document authority.  Flow will present you with possible matches which you can select to populate the reference fields.   If no reference information is provided, you can manually enter the information.  Make sure to click the “Save” button to save the reference information.

Add References

To add an item to Flow, click the "Add"  icon at the top of the page.  If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the "Add"  icon.

You'll have three options:

  • Upload document
  • Import references
  • Create new reference

You can drag and drop a document (.pdf, .doc, etc.) directly into the "Drop file here" box or click "select a file from your computer" to upload an existing MS Office, Open Office or .pdf file from your computer.   Only 1 document per item allowed. 

Tip:  If you have multiple documents to add to Flow, you can select and drag them all at once.  Flow will create separate items for each.

Regardless of which option you choose, Flow uses its document recognition feature to attempt to auto-complete the reference fields on the page.  Flow’s document recognition feature is compiled from a combination of authoritative citation sources, ProQuest databases, and end-user generated content and is continually revised and optimized to deliver the best possible results. 

You can change the reference type, manually edit the reference fields and additional fields can be added using the "Add more fields" drop down box at the bottom of the page. 

If you do not have a file to upload, simply populate the blank fields by typing in the necessary information.

Once you have manually added your item using one of these options, click "Save" and your item will be added to your Flow library

Upload Documents

Upload a PDF, Word or Powerpoint document to your Flow library.  If you want to add your documents to a specific collection, make sure you’re viewing the collection first, then drag and drop the file(s).    If you’re dragging multiple files, Flow will create a separate item for each document.  Otherwise, drag and drop documents in the “All Documents” view and you can file them in collections once they are uploaded.
If you’re not sure where the file is on your computer, you can also click the “Add”   icon, then click the “Upload document" to browse and search for a file.

Flow will try to recognize and populate the reference information using the document authority.  Flow will present you with possible matches which you can select to populate the reference fields.
 
If no reference information is provided, you can manually enter the information.  Make sure to click the “Save” button to save the reference information.

Import References

EndNote

You can easily import your EndNote references into your Flow account
  1. :In EndNote, go to Format> Export References
  2. In your EndNote library, select the references you would like to export.
  3. Save the file, making sure the output styles field is set to “RefMan (RIS) Export”.
  4. In Flow, click the "+"  icon, then select Import References and click the EndNote button.
  5. Drag and drop the saved file into Flow into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it.

For instructions on importing references from other reference managment programs see The Flow Guide, Getting your Existing References into Flow

 

Getting your exisitng references into Flow

For instructions on importing references from other reference managment programs see The Flow Guide.

 

Create New References

Enter citation information manually.  Select type of document and enter the bibliographic details.  You can also drag or import the file.