Skip to main content
University Library

WRI 102: Writing and Reading Across the Curriculum

FAQs WRI 102

On this page read a list of common questions asked by WRI 102 students.

Read how AUS Librarians answer these questions.

If you have further research questions ask a librarian at the Research Help Desk on the first floor of the library.

Getting Help

Research Help

   Library Help Desk
   Ground floor, AUS Library
   06 5152277
   researchhelp@aus.edu
   Help desk open during library hours

 

For help during academic calendar weekends, final exams & semester breaks, email: researchhelp@aus.edu

Modified hours for Ramadan & summer semester

Librarians Answer

The questions below are all actual questions asked by previous WRI 102 students with answers written by our librarians.

If you need further assistance, don't hesitate to visit or contact the Research Help Desk (details in left sidebar).

How do I access the WRI 102 Library Quiz?

Answer:  To access and take the WRI 102 Library Quiz on ilearn, you first need to follow a few simple instructions, attached below. To find out more about the quiz, open the Library Classes tab of this Libguide.

I can't find a topic for my research paper! Where can I look to find one?

Answer:  Answer:  Deciding on a topic is the starting point of your research.  Consider choosing a topic you find interesting or want to know more about.  Look under the Finding a Topic tab of this Libguide for a list of suggestions. 

How do I find a book on my topic?

Answer:  To find a book on your research topic you can use the Library's discovery tool called WorldCat.  Search WorldCat from the Library's Homepage and from your results page, limit to content type:  books/ebooks.  For help with using WorldCat, and locating items on the shelves, refer to the Library's Learning Modules (Reflect Learn Connect - Identify Options).  

What is WorldCat?

Answer:  WorldCat is a discovery tool which searches the AUS library's physical and digital collection in a single step: books, e-books, scholarly journal and newspaper articles and more.  Results are ranked in a single list accordiing to relevance.  Search WorldCat from the Library's Homepage.

How do I search for Library DVDs?

Answer:  The Library's discovery tool WorldCat can be used to search for library DVDs.  From the results screen, refine your search by Library Location to Media - 1st floor.  The entire process is explained in a short video available under the Library's Learning Modules (Select Sources) called Finding Documentary Films.  Remember to ask at the Research Help Desk on the first floor of the Library if you would like help in finding recommended sources.

Where can I find counter-arguments for my paper?

Answer:  If looking for counter-arguments for your paper, you could try searching a library database called Opposing Viewpoints.  This database provides access to a large range of viewpoint essays covering many controversial social issues.  If you would like help searching this useful database, visit the Research Help Desk on the first floor of the Library where a librarian can help you. 

Where can I get help with my research?

Answer:  To get help with your WRI 102 research paper, explore this LibGuide!  You can also visit the Research Help Desk located on the first floor of the library where you can get assistance from a librarian.  For details, look at the Getting Help section on the left side of this page. 

Where can I find information about Dubai or the UAE?

Answer:  The AUS Library provides a comprehensive listing of useful UAE information sources via our UAE LibGuide.  Here you will find links to UAE statistics, government reports, business intelligence, heritage & culture and Emiratisation sources.

Where can I find English dictionaries?

Answer:  English Dictionaries are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library at the following call number: PE1628

Where can I get help with APA style?

Answer: AUS librarians have put together a useful guide to using APA style which lists working examples of all source types.  Follow these APA citation examples when preparing your list of references.  To access the guide, look under the APA Help tab of this Libguide or follow the link below.  The Library also provides access to a number of citation tools which will help you collect, manage and format your sources.  These tools are called EndNote Web and Zotero.  Ask at the Research Help Desk on the first floor if you need help using these tools.