Skip to main content
University Library

EndNote Web

Getting Help

Research Help

   Library Help Desk
   Ground floor, AUS Library
   06 5152277
   researchhelp@aus.edu
   Help desk open during library hours

 

For help during academic calendar weekends, final exams & semester breaks, email: researchhelp@aus.edu

Modified hours for Ramadan & summer semester

What is covered in this section

This section of the EndNote Web libguide covers:

  • Adding a reference from a database into EndNote Web
  • Import filters
  • Samples from selected databases

Note regarding Import Filters:

For some of the library databases, you will need to use a database's import filter.

The import filter specifies the output format and file extenstion that will allow a database article citation to import into EndNote Web. Some of the databases have direct export and so you will not need to use an import filter.  

Select the Excel file below -  EndNote Web Filters -  to see which databases have an import filter as well as the name of the filter. 

Add a reference from a library database

The easiest way to build your EndNote library (EndNote Web refers to this as 'My References') is to export articles from the library databases and import them into EndNote Web.

  • Go to library.aus.edu

  • Go to the library database you want to search

  • Search for articles

  • Export the articles that you would like save

  • Import them into EndNote Web

 

Scroll down to view sample export images from some of the library databases

    Sample Export from Science Direct

    screen shot from Science Direct. In the article, select Export citation, Choose export format "RIS format", hit Export, enter your email address and password to log into Endnote, Click OK. and your references have been exported.

    Sample Export from Proquest

    Exporting from Proquest

    In a ProQuest Article, click Export/Save, select "Endnote", Click "Continue", then save the RIS formatted file to your computer.

    Importing into EndNote Web

      Screen shot show how to retrieve the file to import into Endnote Web. In the Collect tab, select Import References, 1. browse for the file, 2. select import option "RIS-filter", 3. send to desired reference list.

    Sample Export from Ebscohost

    screenshot of Ebscohost result page and export link

    Sample Export from JSTOR

    screenshot of JSTOR webpage and export feature