Skip to main content
University Library

Databases at AUS

Guide to databases and online searching at the AUS Library.

Databases at AUS

AUS Library subscribes to over 45 different databases in many subject areas – in the databases you will find magazine and journal articles that will help you with your research. 

Databases at AUS Subject Guide

What is a database?


What is the basic definition of a library database?

  • A library database is an electronic (online) catalog or index
  • Library databases contain information about published items
  • Library databases are searchable by Keywords, Subject, Author, Journal Title, Date, etc.
  • The library subscribes to many databases so the AUS community has access to these resources. 
  • When you're searching a database, you are not searching "the web."

What types of items are indexed by library databases?

Library databases allow you to find:

  • Articles in Journals/Magazines/Newspapers
  • Reference Information (i.e. entries from Encyclopedias, Statistics, etc.)
  • Books & other documents

What types of information do library databases provide?

Databases provide citation information about the items they index. A citation typically consists of:

  • Author's name
  • Title of Article
  • Source (i.e. Title of the Journal/Magazine/Newspaper)
  • Publisher
  • Date of Publication

Some library databases also provide abstracts of the items they index.  An abstract is a brief summary of the article.

And some library databases provide the full text (the entire article) for items they index.