LibGuides: Researcher Support: Open Data Repositories

What is an Open Data Repository?

An Open Data Repository is a website which provides a framework and location for you to put your research data when your project is complete.

Open Data Repositories are usually focused on a specific discipline and will have standards for the formats of submitted data and the metadata that accompanies it.

Their use is two-fold:

You can use an Open Data Repository as the end destination for your data so it can be archived and accessed in accordance with your Data Management Plan
You, and other researchers, can use an Open Data Repository to access past experimental or research data for verification, longitudinal analysis, and meta-analysis.

This means that an Open Data Repository can be both a starting point, or an endpoint, for research.

We've collected a few discipline-specific repositories here for your convenience.

General Repository Resources

Dataverse Project
The Harvard Dataverse is open to all researchers worldwide in all disciplines.
Nature's List of Recommended Repositories
A list of repositories, sorted by discipline, covering social sciences, materials science, biological sciences, generalists, etc.
re3data
By offering detailed information on more than 2,000 research data repositories, re3data has become the most comprehensive source of reference for research data infrastructures globally.
Google Dataset Search
Google Dataset Search is a search engine across metadata for millions of datasets in thousands of repositories across the Web. Dataset Search can be useful to a broad audience, whether you're looking for scientific data, government data, or data provided by news organizations. Simply enter what you are looking for, and the results will guide you to the published dataset on the repository provider’s site.

Arts-specific Repositories

re3data: Fine Arts Repositories
This link directs specifically to a list of disciplinary Fine Arts repositories which accept submitted data. Browse here to find one which matches your research needs.
KAPTUR
managing visual arts research data
Artivity
Artivity enables you to easily record and share the entire creation process of your digital artwork.
Webrecorder
Webrecorder is a web archiving service anyone can use for free to save web pages. Making a capture is as easy as browsing a page like you normally would. Webrecorder automatically archives the page, along with any additional content triggered by interactions.
University of the Arts London Research Data Repository
Not open for submission, but browsable to give you an idea of what repositories are archiving from the arts.
University for the Creative Arts Research Data Repository
Not open for submissions, but provides insight into what is archived to meet DMP standards in the Arts.
Glasgow School of Arts RADAR
Not open for submissions.

RADAR is the Glasgow School of Art's research repository, providing a digital archive of research and enterprise output produced by Glasgow School of Art staff and postgraduate students. RADAR (which stands for Repository of Art Design Architecture Research) makes information publically available about a wide range of research outputs, from books and journal articles to exhibitions and artifacts. Full text is available where possible, and some additional content is available on request.
eDance Project
This project explores how to curate data about dance projects.

Humanities and Social Sciences-specific Repositories

ICPSR Data Deposit
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
re3data: Humanities and Social Sciences
This link goes directly to a filtered list of Humanities and Social Sciences Research Data Repositories which are open to submissions by registered parties and limited by discipline rather than institution.

Change the filters and browse this list to find a repository which matches your research.
Masader Project
Online Catalogue for Arabic NLP Datasets

STEM-specific Repositories

REDCap Data Management System
Data capture and management system primarily for use in clinical studies.
re3data: Biology
A pre-filtered search of Biology data repositories. Modify the filters and browse to find a repository that suits your research.
re3data: Chemistry
A pre-filtered search of Chemistry data repositories. Modify the filters and browse to find a repository that suits your research.
re3data: Physics
A pre-filtered search of Physics data repositories. Modify the filters and browse to find a repository that suits your research.
re3data: Engineering
A pre-filtered search of Engineering data repositories covering a variety of specializations. Modify the filters and browse to find a repository that suits your research.