Skip to main content
University Library

Faculty Guide to Library Research Assignments

Business Management Assignment

This research assignment requires students to develop an annotated bibliography.

This assignment was provided by an AUS Business Management Professor.

Business Management Assignment

Assignment: Annotated bibliography

You will need to do some research on the topic. This will necessitate doing some library research, using the AUS online library or the physical library. 

The assignment is an annotated bibliography:

WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited (Engel et al, 2008).

During this assignment, you are required to:

  • Identify, read and write a brief summary of at least two scholarly articles or sections of a book that are related to your leader.
  • Identify, read and write a brief summary of at least three scholarly articles or sections of a book that are related to an aspect of leadership/leadership development that interests you.
  • Identify two relevant web based resources, these could be multimedia, and will be from credible sources.  Related to your leader or to an aspect of leadership development that interests you. Write a brief summary

The articles and books and other sources you present in this assignment will be the sources you plan to use in further work on your chosen leader.  Explain each sources’ relevance to your chosen leader. The summaries described above form your annotated bibliography (a summary of the main points within each reference).

When you submit the annotated bibliography please include all of the information related to your sources. Also be sure to give complete bibliographical information on each source ie a reference list.  When it is a web based source include the web address and/or link. Follow APA referencing guidelines

Reference:  Engel, M. Blumenthal, A., and  Cosgrave, T. (2008). How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography. Accessed Aug 26, 2009 at  www.library.cornell.edu/olinuris/ref/research/skill28.htm